The 31st Anniversary Celebration at Wat Lao Buddhavong July 3-4, 2010

This is our fourth year attending the July 4th celebration at Wat Lao Buddhavong, and my first year able to do videos of the event. Video clips take up a lot of memory that I had to shoot sparingly and it also meant taking less photos this year.

According to our Buddhist belief, Tuk Badt or Almsgiving is believed by many that it’s a Boun (merit making) of life, that they’ll live a long and healthy life which technically speaking by Tuk Badt, they’re offering foods to the monks to sustain their livelihoods. We Busa (donate money for) the alms bowl this year, it was $10 and Lee was putting the sticky rice in the monk’s bowl.

Candles and incense sticks for worshiping.

Near the Lotus pond sits the statue of King Kabinlaphom, the father of Nang Sankaan.

I believed this is Pra Pisounee in Thai language, a female monk.

This is also a final resting place for many, and for some of us, this is a family reunion.

Sadly there are many monuments that have not been visited and shows sign of wear and tear. I guess their families have forgotten about them.

Laos water buffalo stands proudly across from the Lotus pond.

It’s heart warming to see souvenir items from Laos.

Ping gai (Lao style barbecue chicken)

Kao Larm, a sticky rice dessert and here we have white and purple sticky rice. I wonder if the light green one was a young sticky rice.

Lychee fruits

There were many performers that I didn’t get to do a full video on. I was running low on battery and memory, I’m talking about my camera here.

Tum Lehsee

