Posted by: Nye | July 28, 2009

Offering Flowers

I had to thin out my Water Hyacinth this past Sunday, they were taking over my pond and I’m glad that I did, otherwise I would have missed this Lotus flower in bloom (closeup image). Then I also saw a flower that my sister Sue gave me, I didn’t know what it was at first, and it has a very strong fragrant, very much like a Jasmine but a lot stronger, my sister told me it’s a Tuberose, and some people said that it smells very much like the Queen of the Night. The plant was given to her by Mae tou Sorn and she said that you can use the flower to Wai Pra (offering to Buddha). I’m glad that she gave me part of her plants and now I have a Tuberose in my garden, closeup image.

The tuberose (Polianthes tuberosa) is a perennial plant of the agave family Agavaceae, and the oil extracted from the flower is used as a perfume. Its a prominent plant in Indian culture and mythology. The flowers are used in wedding ceremonies, garlands, decoration and various traditional rituals, and I believed one being the offering flower for Buddhism.

I recalled when I was little living in Laos and Thailand that lotus flower is used for worshiping. And during my visit back home, I’m not surprised to see the Lotus flowers in front of the Wat (temple), after all it’s the sacred flower of India where the birth of Buddhism.

Below on the left hand side is Dork Huk, I’m not sure what it’s called in English but the Lao name is loosely translated as the flower of love.

Kind of surprised me that the most popular flower for worshiping in Laos is the Marigold.

And at Boun That Luang, Marigold seemed to be the flower of choice also.

My dad and I are still very traditional when it comes to flower, we preferred the Lotus flower and that’s what we used for offering.

I’m beginning to see Lee’s Marigold flowers in a different light now.

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

